Blog Jumpstart – Student Teaching

Okay, I’ve gone ahead and connected the jumper cables to this blog and will attempt to restart it.  This time I want to track my student teaching time at two local schools.  I want to use this blog to help me write my reflections which have to be turned in with my portfolio in the beginning of March and again in the beginning of May.

I’ll write more about my possible intentions tomorrow.  But for now, I’ll just say the following:

My first placement is in a fairly diverse, suburban, middle school.  According to the Public School Review website it has 1,033 students.  It is 51% female and 49% male (obviously).  There are 61 teachers.  The diversity breaks down as such:  1% American Indian, 2% Asian, 6% Hispanic, 26% Black, and 65% White.  This is about average for the state.  The number of students eligible for free/reduced lunches is unavailable.  The school is located in an area that has a lot of active duty military families.  So there is the added difficulty of many students having a parent who is deployed for 12-18 months at a time.

I will be teaching is a 7th grade World Geography class.  My cooperating teacher has been teaching for about 10 years I think.  She is married with two adult children.  She is former military and her husband is retired military.  If you know me or have read this blog you know that I am a retired disabled veteran with 21 years, 8 months service.

This past Thursday and Friday I was in a student teacher orientation seminar.  I’ll write about it and more tomorrow.

3 responses

  1. Glad that you have connected the jumper cables. I can’t wait to hear more.

    Like

  2. Best of luck Eric,
    It has been my experience that teachers who have had a life ‘beyond schooling’ have often brought something to teaching that the young bucks just can’t… no fault of their own.
    Remember to have fun and you’ll always look back at your student teaching days with fond memories.
    ~Dave.

    Like

    1. Thanks Dave,

      That’s what I’m finally realizing in my 2nd placement. I’ve only been there for about 10 days but it is so much more fun than my 1st placement. I’ve been able to have fun and relax and it’s been very enjoyable – so far!

      Like

Leave a Reply

