I just want a job.

So here it is, the last two weeks of July. School starts in just over 2 weeks and I still don’t have a job. I have interviewed for a total of ONE job this summer. It’s a high school social studies job at an alternative program. But hey, I’ll take it if they give it to me.

I’ve never felt so worthless before. I really REALLY don’t want to continue my grad program right now. I’d rather be employed as a teacher. I’m tired of being a student. I’m tired of telling my kids that we have to wait to buy stuff and not being able to provide for them the things they want and need. I’m tired of not having a vacation besides sitting at home doing nothing (because we’re broke and can’t afford a real vacation). I want to go to Orlando and do nothing at the parks!

I’d much rather be creating curriculum than abiding by another person’s curriculum. I’d rather be grading homework than doing homework. I’d rather be assigning classwork than doing classwork. I’d much rather be facilitating the discussion than simply participating in a discussion.

I just want a job.

4 responses

  1. I know for a fact that I would have been in your shoes, had I stayed in Pennsylvania. In fact, I was to a degree. After I graduated from college, I had sub jobs in 10 different PA districts and coached in 3 of them. I was interviewing, but getting nothing. 3 interviews in 3 years.

    After coming to Texas (where the jobs are) all of that changed. I had 3 job offers in 3 hours at the first job fair.

    I know that people are limited with where they live, but there are some jobs out there, if you are willing to be creative and move. Just hope, for you, it doesn’t come to that. But, looking back on it… it was the best move I ever made. good luck.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Dave. If I could move, we would. Unfortunately, we are kind of locked into this location for a while. I have a lot of family in Texas (I was born there, raised in OK) and I suppose wouldn’t mind going back to TX that’s for sure.

      Like

  2. I’ve been there. I didn’t get my first teaching job until just a couple of weeks before the semester started. When I left that job and looked for another, the same thing happened. Even now, I live from semester to semester as a part-time community college teacher. But when you find the right job, it’s definitely worth the wait. Unfortunately, your timing is not great due to the economic situation. So if things don’t happen this semester, I wouldn’t take it personally – although that doesn’t help much. Things can only get better, so I’m sure that you will eventually get your chance.

    Like

    1. Paul, thanks for the kind words. You are right about the “right job” and how it’s worth it. I’m just hoping it comes sooner rather than later!

      Like

Leave a Reply

