I got a Job!

Oh Hallelujah! I got a job. I had an interview with the district HR folks last Thursday afternoon. The principal was suppose to be there at the interview but could not make it for some reason. They passed my name and contact information to her and I expected a call from her on Friday. When I didn’t get a call I went through the weekend thinking it was all over. On Monday (the 19th) I sent her an email stating basically that I hope she would give me a chance at an interview before she made her decision because I had a lot to offer the students and staff. I got a call from her that evening – within probably 45 minutes – asking me to come in that next day (Tuesday, July 20th).  I went in and spent about 40 minutes in an interview with her and she showed me the school.  Afterward, she told me she didn’t know when the decision would be made and that it could be Friday (July 23rd) before they know. She sent me an email Tuesday evening saying much along those lines. (I should also say I sent both of the ladies at the HR dept a thank you note and I sent the principal a thank you note).

Finally, yesterday evening (Thursday, July 22nd) I got a phone call from her officially offering me the position. I was so happy. Perhaps that’s an understatement of how I feel.

I’ll be teaching in an alternative school. I’ll be teaching 9th-12th grades in all history subjects (U.S./world history, geography, government, and economics). We’re on block schedule. There’s very little technology in the school and it’s in a converted mom & pop grocery building.   It’s in a very rural county too. That’s all for now!

3 responses

  1. wowza, it sounds like you are going to have a TON of planning to do!

    Like

    1. You got that right! I definitely have my work cut out for me. However, I may be able to work with the teachers who had the students in their regular classrooms. That aside, I’m glad there is no EOC for world history or world geography. That takes some of the pressure off of me. I’m unsure if government or economics has an EOC. If that’s the case, U.S. History may be the only one with an EOC and that would be awesome. The small number of students in each block will permit me to do more activities or project-based learning. Since the walls don’t go up to the ceiling, I’m wondering how often I can use videos. I normally enjoy showing a short funny video at the beginning of each class, but I don’t know if that will be feasible now.

      Like

  2. You can still do it, buy headset splitters .. . i paid $16 for one. I bought 5 but that was for my entire class.

    Here is an example of what I’m talking about: http://www.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=404634

    Like

Leave a Reply

