Allow Myself to Introduce…Myself…

Middle East 02The Teacher
I am the crazy teacher with some rebel teacher mixed in. I have a smidgen of forgetful teacher. and some tech addict thrown in. Occasionally, I’ll splash some O Captain! My Captain! into the mix when my students make wrong decisions. If you’re a teacher you get it. If you’re not…well, you won’t get it. I joke around a lot and have to be mindful not to say something inappropriate (not dirty, just wrong place, wrong time sort of stuff) during serious moments (staff meetings are a nightmare for me). I cut up a lot, but it is a facade. In reality, I take just about everything deadly serious. Do not mistake my jocularity for lack of passion or knowledge.

The Past me before jump with shadow
I served in the U.S. Army (1985 to 2006), retiring as a SFC. I worked as an  intelligence analyst. I served 12 years with special operations and the rest with strategic intelligence. I am a Southwest Asia service veteran. I am also a certified German & Arabic linguist. Upon retirement, I received my BA in history/education in 2010. I received certification to teach history, government, and geography. I am also highly qualified to teach economics.

The Now1st classroom
After I graduated, I started working at the alternative program for a county school district.  I teach U.S. history and geography, world history and geography, government / economics, and contemporary issues (for the first time next year). It is a very challenging position. But it is certainly not the one I thought I would have when I graduated. But it is the one I was meant to have.

The Future
2 Pics of my classroom
I do not know what the future holds. I do not know if I will be at the same school after next year. But I love it. I hope to start my graduate degree in the next couple of years. I just have not decided what I want to study. I want to study something that will genuinely give me the most return on investment (ROI). Not just something to get me a pay raise.

My Family
I have been married to my lovely wife, Suprina, since 1994. I have four children, Daniel (1997), Aimee (1998), Zachary (2000), and David (2004).Politically, I am a conservative libertarian. And let me tell you, it can be pretty frustrating and intimidating being a conservative libertarian in a field full of progressives and liberals. Religiously, I am a Christian.

Ask me if you want to know something else.

Leave a Reply

