Assessment Process in an Alternative School Setting, Part 1

learning & formative and summative assessment methodLike all good teachers I’ve given a bit of thought to the learning and assessment process. I can’t say what works for me and my students will work for you and your students. My findings/conclusions are:

  • Lesson planning is easier
  • Redundancy helps to achieve mastery of a standard/topic
  • Only one student failed to achieve proficient* in the End-of-Course (EOC) Testing at the end of the class (8 semesters)
  • Students:
    • like the process & learn to excel at basic student skills
    • feel in charge of their learning; they have options
    • operate better within daily/weekly structure
    • feel secure for part of the day while home environment may be chaotic

In the next part I discuss the “Key Terms, Questions, et al.” This is the first part of my chapter process. I should note that this is the way I was doing each chapter/unit from 2011-2014. With new standards starting for 2014-2015, I am starting a new process that I will blog about later.

*The student intentionally failed the EOC test as attested to by other students.

Assessment Process in an Alternative School Setting

Leave a Reply

