A Poem my Father Wrote

My father wrote this poem many years ago. It won 2nd place in a nationwide contest sponsored by Parade Magazine in 1993 as I recall. I hope you like it as much as I do. My father passed away two weeks ago on August 1st, 2014.

Tomorrow

Tomorrow, my tomorrow
whatever will you bring.
A broken heart to cry o’er
or perhaps a song to sing.
Will you hurt me then desert me
and leave my soul to ache
or will you love me lightly
and a lifetime for me make.
Tomorrow, my tomorrow
love me lightly
please I plea,
For I have cried o’er all
the yesterdays
that were ever meant to be.

Tom A. Turner
Aug 24, 1942 – Aug 1, 2014
Poet, artist, woodworker, father, husband

Dad - 03 - 060213

5 responses

  1. I love his poem and your tribute. Sorry for your loss

    Like

  2. I love his poem and your tribute. Sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Angie. He is missed. He left a lot of poetry to be read and reread.

      Like

      1. How nice to have his words with you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Definitely! :)

        Like

Leave a Reply

