Not the Day I Planned

Today was not the day I planned. It was not the day I thought it would be. I started the day with certain expectations and they were shot down. Not intentionally mind you, but it was still frustrating. It’s days like this where you have to admit you messed up and redirect fire or start over from scratch. I committed to both courses of action.

As you may recall from yesterday, I thought the “You Matter” concept was better received by the faculty yesterday. Well, as it turns out, I think at best it was lukewarm. That was a blow I didn’t expect. But, in their defense, we do a lot of the things “You Matter” advocates: we greet students, we talk to them one-on-one, we attempt to make them feel they are successful. But I felt (and still do) that there was something missing that tied it all together. Perhaps I didn’t make that clear enough. I’ll have to readdress that and talk to the other teachers about it. I don’t know how much persuasion they really require. I think it’s more a question from them of, “Why do we need this, when we already do so many of those things already?” I think my answer needs to be that  the “You Matter” material kind of ties it together in a neat package, it focuses it.

Naturally, I got ribbing for being “touchy-feely” and such. I should have expected that and the other male teachers were going around jokingly saying to me and each other, “Hey, don’t forget! You matter!” But I think in the long run they believe it’s something we need and they’ll do it once they see the results.

My classes didn’t go as planned. Lots of absences today. Which means I have to repeat on Monday what I did today. Additionally, I realized today I gave out the wrong assignment to one government class last week. I think I’m to the point of simply starting over in government. It was really frustrating. This switch from blocks to periods and to new standards for all my classes has also increased my frustration. I simply am not feeling organized right now and I felt it in all my classes. I don’t like that.

I got two new students today from “reentry.” Reentry is when students have been with us before and return. When they return they are isolated in ISS for a minimum of one week. This isolation can last longer depending on their behavior and their work. They have certain things they must complete prior to joining the rest of the students. So these two joined me in my contemporary issues class. They changed the entire dynamics of the class. Our classes are already small, This class had only five students and now has seven. It’s hard enough to get these types of students to engage in appropriate discourse. But once you got the flow of the class going, it’s not too bad. Then you get two students like this and it’s like starting over from ground zero. It adds to your frustration.

A freshman in my last periods (block) told me another student had been bullying her. This infuriated me. She’s 14, he’s 18. I don’t tolerate that at all. He thinks he’s an adult and a “man.”  For the record: “real men” don’t act like that. Last week, I caught him bumping up against her and such. I told him I didn’t want to see that happen again. He tried to brush it off. I told her to let me know if anything was going on. She has tried to ignore it, but today she admitted it’s gone too far. Monday? We’re having a “Come-to-Jesus-Meeting.” Oh I’m still hot about it.

The principal was absent today. Our “assistant principal” (who-really-isn’t-an-assistant-principal-but-does-the-work-of-one) lead the morning assembly. He went ahead and talked to them about how they mattered and how they mattered to us. It sounded jilted to me, but it was an effort. I’m looking forward to Monday when our principal returns to see what she has planned.

Days like this happen. Not all days are perfect. Not all days happen the way we plan. I kept my eyes on the prize and the goal. I’ll keep persevering, running the race. It’s days like this that make me so grateful and blessed to come home to my wonderful wife and awesome four kids who stay out of trouble and try their best at all things. Truly a refuge from craziness. Here’s to hoping this weekend is productive. One of my twitter friends loves lists (and by making this list if she reads it, it’ll be stuck in her head, so that’s pretty cool!), so here’s the list: 1) science project for 10yr old son; 2) work on organizing classes; 3) rest – I think I may be getting sick; 4) work on a digital wallpaper; 5) maybe? get out in the garage depending on the weather.

I hope y’all have a great weekend. Let me know what your plans are if you feel the desire and/or got the time. I’d be interested. Hit me up on twitter: @_ericturner

Leave a Reply

