An Observation about Perspective

Sometimes I think about my students’ perspectives regarding history and while this isn’t the first time I’ve considered this, I just wanted to share that observation.

The strange part of teaching history is the differences in perception between me and my students. For instance, I am currently working on lecture notes & a slideshow about the 1980s – a time I well remember since I graduated in 1984 and can certainly relate to, and my perception of it is as if it were yesterday in a sense. However, for my students this happened 30 years ago – in the distant past for them. To give myself some perspective that would be similar to when I was in high school in the early ’80s and a teacher talking about what life was like in the early ’50s, pretty much right after WW2.

And then I think of all the changes between the ’50s and the ’80s and then consider all the changes between the ’80s and the ’10s.

Weird.

Leave a Reply

